Looking forward to travel in 2013

The new year is almost upon us, so it’s time to hope for good things for 2013. I know in some Latin American cultures, at midnight on New Year’s Eve people make sure to do something that represents what they want to happen in the new year. For example, counting money or, more relevant to this blog, carry a suitcase across the threshold to represent travel. So I guess this is sort of the online version of that kind of new-year-related wishful thinking.

Here are some possibilities of my own for the coming year; realistically probably only one of them will happen, but there’s nothing wrong with thinking big, right?

1. One of my friends wants to go to New Zealand; if that actually happens I will definitely be there right alongside her!
2. Another friend who lives in the UK has tempted me with a trip driving the fjords of Norway. I’ve always wanted to see Scandinavia, so if the timing is right, I may tag along on this one as well.
3. Someone in my Spanish class is going to Nicaragua for three weeks in January, and I’ve heard from him and others that Nicaragua really is the best travel destination in Central America nowadays. So it has been added to the list of possibilities.
4. Finally, after my trip to Chile this year, I would like to see more of South America. I think Peru and Argentina are next on my list for the continent.

So, where do you want to travel in 2013? What are your top destinations? Any tip for the places on my list?

About accidentalfinds

A twenty-something girl searching for ways to get abroad and find random amazing bits of the world as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Best, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking forward to travel in 2013

  1. wanderoneday says:

    I really like the idea of doing something symbolic at midnight to set the tone for the new year. I hope my 2013 to be full of fun travels as well – maybe I’ll write myself a postcard 🙂

  2. Germany is gorgeous! I live in Germany, but travel a lot. And since I travel I appreciate Germany even more. It’s beautiful.
    I also lived for one year in Switzerland – it’s gorgeous as well.
    There are many nice places in Europe!

  3. Tips for destinations in South America? I LOVE Brazil. I recently posted about it here: http://bit.ly/XZ5o2l

    • Thanks for sharing! I will definitely check it out! So far the only place I’ve been in South America is Chile, and it was awesome. Next on my list are Peru and Argentina, and hopefully Brazil one day too.

  4. mor303 says:

    Just my take, but you might want to investigate Ecuador. I only say this because you mentioned UNESCO World Heritage Site with regard to Chile, i.e., Quito is a World Heritage Site (as is Cuenca. SP?). Moreover, I have visited Quito and it is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever visited. Quite safe and the Old Historical Section of the city is reminiscent of old world Europe (e.g., Italy and Spain). The cathedrals in this city are quite comparable to those I have seen in England and Spain. Many of the buildings are in excellent shape and date back to the 1600s. Very inexpensive to travel there. You are also spot on regarding New Zealand. If possible, rent a car – this is the best way to see New Zealand and you’ll be able to see quite a bit in 3-4 weeks. Not as inexpensive as Ecuador, but it still is a bargain compared to Europe and certainly, Australia (where I am at now).

Leave a Reply

