Looking back at 2012

So, the year is about to switch over. I’m clearly not ready for it to happen, as I keep preparing text at work to post on our website listing upcoming events as happening in January, 2012, and having to harass our web designer to change it at the last minute.

But, as suggested by the Daily Post, it’s time to look back at 2012, because in a way it helps us to look forward to the upcoming year.

Some changes happened in my life at the end of 2011, and I, who usually skip the whole “making a New Year’s resolution thing,” resolved to focus on myself in 2012 and hope that made me happy. So has that happened?

In a way it has. I’ve been able to do things I wouldn’t have been able to the year before. I’ve been lucky enough to travel several times this year. Right after last New Year’s I got to take a trip back to the UK, where I used to live, and visit some old friends. I went back to Dallas for work and got to visit my old college. I drove to Canada for Labor Day weekend and spent time with another old friend. And, of course, I just got back from my first ever trip to South America, spending 8 days in Chile.

And, in a weird way, traveling helps to clear my head, and when I come home, I am more ready to be settled and to build a life here in DC rather than always waiting for the next place to run off to. (Until my next bout of itchy feet, that is). I suppose traveling gives you perspective, and that’s why it’s important. But of course, the end of the year isn’t really an end point, to say yes, I’ve succeeded, or yes, I’ve becoming happy, because 2012 will bleed into 2013, and changes will keep coming. But that’s the beauty of life.

In the spirit of end of the year lists, here’s a list of people I’m glad I got to visit or meet this year.

1) My friend Yuhan, whom I visited in Brighton in January. She was just as happy as I always remember her being. Sadly, she passed away 6 months later, so I’m glad I got to see her one last time.

2) Another friend of mine that I visited in Canada and the UK. Maybe one day it will work out.

3) Denis the taxi driver in Santiago (and others I met in Chile) for telling me about their lives and helping me build confidence in my Spanish and my ability to connect across cultures. Here I am trying to find ways to work less than my 40 hours a week, and here are people like Denis working two jobs and 12 hour days, 7 days a week to make ends meet.

All in all, I think 2012 was a good year for me, a year that I grew as a person. I still haven’t decided on a resolution for 2013. What will yours be?

About accidentalfinds

A twenty-something girl searching for ways to get abroad and find random amazing bits of the world as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

